San Francisco to vote on ‘Comfort Women’ memorial soon…

San Francisco Board of Supervisor will vote on a resolution that will enable an installation of ‘Comfort Women’ memorial in SF on Sept. 22nd.

Resolution 150764

We invited a survivor Halmoni Yongsoo Lee to support SF community groups’ effort to build a memorial in SF.  She will be in SF next week to testify and give her support for the memorial. After the vote on Sept. 22nd, she will be in Los Angeles for another 10 days to meet with various groups and promote support on the ‘Comfort Women’ issue. Please let me know if you’d like to schedule a meeting or a group event with her.

We need your help in San Francisco!  Please call them or send a letter of support to the SF BOS and let them know of your individual and/or organizational support.

The ultra-nationalists appeared on July 21 BOS meeting (one of them was Koichi Mera, the plaintiff in the lawsuit against Glendale) and raised their voice of opposition and have been bombarding the BOS with phone calls and letters.

 

Rafu Shimpo article

 

London Breed – President of BOS (Need push)
District 5
(415) 554-7630 – Voice
(415) 554-7634 – Fax
London.Breed@sfgov.org

John.Avalos@sfgov.org (Thanks for support!)

David.Campos@sfgov.org ​(Thanks for support!)

Julie Christensen (Thanks for support!)
District 3
(415) 554-7450 – Voice
(415) 554-7454

Julie.Christensen@sfgov.org

Malia Cohen (Thanks for support!)
District 10
(415) 554-7670 – Voice
(415) 554-7674 – Fax
Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org

Mark.Farrell@sfgov.org ​(Thanks for support!)

Jane Kim (Thanks for support!)

District 6
(415) 554-7970 – Voice
(415) 554-7974 – Fax

Jane.Kim@sfgov.org

Eric.L.Mar@sfgov.org (Leading the resolution)

Katy Tang (Need push)
District 4
(415) 554-7460 – Voice
(415) 554-7432 – Fax

Katy.Tang@sfgov.org

Scott Wiener (Need push)
District 8
(415) 554-6968 – Voice
(415) 554-6909 – Fax

Scott.Wiener@sfgov.org

Norman.Yee@sfgov.org ​(Thanks for support!)

 

Current Abe administration is waging an all-out war to stop the installation of a memorial in SF. General Consul of Japan in San Francisco has been pressuring the Supervisors and local groups, with any and all means possible. One of the most vocal deniers is the mayor of Osaka, a sister city of SF, who recently sent a letter trying to downplay Japan’s Military Sexual Slavery as just one of many other sexual abuses of women by military of other countries.

Osaka Mayor Hashimoto’s letter

 

If you have been a supporter of Glendale Peace Monument, you know very well that the Peace Monument brought understanding and harmony, and the sense of solidarity among various ethnic groups and communities, not a division among them.  Supporters of different backgrounds came together to support the surviving victims’ human rights and dignity and to remember those who perished.

 

San Francisco is trying to do the same thing.

 

Please tell them it’ll be a bold and exemplary action to stand up for the human rights of these women.  And let us continue to work together to stop all violence against women and children during military conflict around the globe.

 

Sincerely yours,

Phyllis Kim (김현정 사무국장)
Executive Director
Korean American Forum of California

Comments are closed